Monday, February 19, 2018

Cale Yarborough Wins His Fourth Daytona 500 - February 19, 1984

February 19, 1984
Cale Yarborough
(Photo: Cale Yarborough via photopin (license))
Yarborough won the Daytona 500 four times, his first win coming in 1968 for the Wood Brothers, the second in 1977 for Junior Johnson, and back-to-back wins in 1983 and 1984. In 1984, he became the first driver to qualify for the Daytona 500 with a top speed of more than 200 miles per hour. In the history of the 200-lap, 500-mile race, only one driver has topped Yarborough's record, Richard Petty, who took home seven victories.

No comments:

Post a Comment