Sunday, December 31, 2017

"Indy Car Veteran" Tony Kanaan Born - December 31, 1974

December 31, 1974
Tony Kanaan
(photo credit:
Born in Salvador, Bahia, Brazil.
Kanaan has won both the 2013 Indianapolis 500 and the 2004 Verizon IndyCar Series championship. That season Kanaan completed 3,305 laps, making him the first IndyCar Series driver to complete every possible lap in a season. He also led 889 laps in 13 separate races to establish an IndyCar Series record. Kanaan is also the only driver to lead the Indianapolis 500 in each of his first 7 starts, and won his first race on his 12th attempt. He has a total of 15 Verizon IndyCar Series race victories. Kanaan also has 1 victory in the Champ Car World Series with his win at the U.S. 500 at Michigan International Speedway and was the 1998 CART "Rookie of the Year".

Kanaan has competed in Stock Car Brasil, American Le Mans Series, Rolex Grand-Am Sports Car Series and the Tudor United SportsCar Championship. He has also competed in both the 24 Hours of Daytona and the 12 Hours of Sebring. He was the 2015 Rolex 24 at Daytona overall winner along with fellow IndyCar driver Scott Dixon and NASCAR racers Jamie McMurray and Kyle Larson.

Kanaan was originally contracted to drive the No. 8 NTT Data/TNT Energy Drink-sponsored Dallara DW12-Ilmor Engineering|Ilmor-Chevrolet Indy V6 for Chip Ganassi Racing. Kanaan began driving for NTT Data Chip Ganassi Racing in the No. 10 NTT Data-sponsored IndyCar in 2015 which he drove until the end of the 2017 season.

(Photo: ktpupp via photopin cc)
Tony Kanaan - Winner Detroit Belle Isle Grand Prix - 2007

No comments:

Post a Comment