Saturday, July 22, 2017

"4-Time Indy-Car Champ" Scott Dixon Born - July 22, 1980

July 22, 1980
Scott Dixon
Born in Brisbane, Australia.
 Competing for Chip Ganassi Racing since joining IndyCar, Dixon has won the championship in 2003, 2008, 2013, and 2015, and he won the 92nd Indianapolis 500 in 2008 from pole position. With 41 wins, Dixon is the leading non-U.S. driver in American Championship Cars, and is the leading active driver in the current IndyCar Series with 40 wins.

He was selected in a worldwide poll among fans as one of the 33 greatest drivers in Indianapolis 500 history. Among other notable awards won by Dixon are the Jim Clark Trophy (1999, 2001, 2004) and the Bruce McLaren Trophy (2003, 2008). In 2012 he was appointed Member of the New Zealand Order of Merit and was New Zealand's Sportsman of the Year in 2008 and 2013. In July 2013, Autosport magazine named Dixon one of the 50 greatest drivers to have never raced in Formula One.

This Day In Motorsport History - Home Page

No comments:

Post a Comment